Snow White and the Huntsman (2012)

Director: Robert Sanders

Major Actors: Kristen Stewart, Chris Hemsworth, and Charlize Theron

IMDb rating: 4/10 (click for page)

I could sum up this review in one phrase: Ed Wood does Lord of the Rings (My dad came up with that). But since many of you probably don’t understand the context. I will explain. Ed Wood is considered to be the worst director in Hollywood ever, just check his IMDb page. Nothing is rated above of five. Thus you know when I say the above phrase. I did not enjoy the movie. I don’t even know where to begin on this movie.

As good a place to begin as any is the characters. Just like many movies now a days there is no sense of character development but I really was not expecting so that came as no surprise. What did surprise me is there were no characters I enjoyed. Normally with movies like this I find a character to watch and enjoy. This has a lot to do with the fact that the minute you are introduced to character. There immediately follows an action scene. But lets be honest this was not main appeal of the movie.

What was the main appeal of the movie was new twist on the Snow White story. While the story had a new twist, it was superficial at best. My view is that if you are going to do a new twist on a story it better be entertaining, like Mirror Mirror. For the most part the twist was more action not a new twist in the storyline. In the end the main reason why I did not enjoy this film was that it could not keep my attention. I was constantly on my phone or PC because it was that boring.

Okay, I think I have ripped the movie up enough, so let me point out a couple of things that I thought were good about it. First the visuals of the film were actually quite stunning. I really like it when movie take a story that is typically colorful and make it dark. This movie actually succeeded in that, unfortunately for it visuals are not enough to save a movie for me. The second thing is that of the acting of Kristen Stewart. I have for a while now refused to throw her out as a bad actress. When I saw the first Twilight, the only one I have seen, I actually enjoyed her acting. She was the one thing that kept me watching the film but she was not enough to save the movie.


I will conclude by saying this: if you like constant action in your movies then you will probably enjoy this. However, if you are like me and like something a little then you may want to avoid this movie.

Leave a Reply

