Cloud Atlas

Cloud Atlas

Directors: Tom Tykwer, Andy Wachowski, and Lana Wachowski

Major Actors: Tom Hanks, Halle Berry, Hugo Weaving, Doona Mae, Jim Broadbent, and Jim Sturgess

Rating: 9 (ratings will be out of 10)

When I first saw the trailer for this movie three months ago. I was like what the heck is this movie? Can this actually be done? The answer is yes. The Wachowskis and Tykwer were able to tell six different stories within a three hour time frame. The first impression is that this movie is really scatterbrained but somehow this ends up working. As Roger Ebert wrote in his review “I was never, ever bored by Cloud Atlas” (click here to read more). I share the same sentiments of Ebert. It just wasn’t boring.

The pacing within the film is just amazing, considering that you are watching six different stories unfold before your eyes. This helped much by the fact in the first two minutes or so of the film. You are given six quick snapshots of each story. This helpful in two ways. First it lets the viewer now what each story looks like and second that it warns you that the stories are going to change quickly and sometimes unexpected. As you can see with what I have discussed so far that this really was an ambitious undertaking by the directors. I think only time will tell if this undertaking panned out.

When it comes to the telling of stories themselves. They end up fitting really well together. What I mean is when one story is doing intricate storytelling, the others they show also do the same. The same goes for action scenes. It really does match the tag line “Everything is connected.”

When it comes to the performances within this film. I could write a blog about each actors roles. There will be much talk about how good Tom Hanks, Jim Sturgess, Jim Broadbent, Halle berry were, but I want to point one of my favorite character actors: Hugo Weaving. Everything I have seen him I have enjoyed and this is no exception. He roles within Cloud Atlas are usually to the side but if removed or if done by someone else. They just would not have the same impact.

This leads to one point that makes this movie fun, which is looking for what each actor is playing. Sometimes they hit you square in the face and they are easy to see but sometimes you don’t even know it was them to the moment has passed. In the end all the performances are a joy to watch.

I do recommend seeing this movie although many of you probably will not enjoy it as much. I do have some suggestions. First don’t expect the movie to be explainable (see Ebert’s review). Second enjoy watching the actors perform different roles. I will conclude by saying this: I can’t wait to see this movie again.

Cloud Atlas

Leave a Reply

